The Faroe Islands are a small archipelago in the North Atlantic, between Scotland, Norway and Iceland. These islands are an autonomous region of the Kingdom of Denmark, but they don’t belong to the European Union. The capital of the Faroe Islands is Torshavn, where around 20,000 people live.

The Faroe archipelago is composed of 18 islands of volcanic origin, 17 of which were inhabited.
Founded by Denmark in 1948, the Faroe Islands, the Faroe Islands are represented by Queen Margrethe II of Denmark, a High Commissioner and a Prime Minister, and are presently members of the United Nations Organization for Food and Agriculture, FAO and of the Nordic Council.